

For Immediate Release Date: 5/1/2023 Contact: David Cotey, Director of Communications 262-789-6225 | david.cotey@nbexcellence.org

West's Saghar Homayounpour Selected as One of Five 2024 Wisconsin Teachers of the Year

New Berlin, Wis. – Saghar Homayounpour, a computer science teacher at New Berlin West Middle / High School, is one of five distinguished educators from across the state to be named a 2024 Wisconsin Teacher of the Year by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

Homayounpour was the first of five teachers to be informed of the teacher of the year recognition during a surprise visit by State Superintendent of Schools Dr. Jill Underly on Monday, May 1. The other educators will learn of their selections in separate school visits later this week. The selected group received the award for their tireless dedication toward students and the profession.

Homayounpour is in her eighth year as a computer science teacher at West after spending one year as a student learning assistant at Poplar Creek Elementary. She has grown West's computer science program to serve more than 200 students annually, exposing students and developing their skills in this continually evolving field. She also founded the school's successful CyberPatriot Club and is a mentor teacher who supports novice computer science teachers with one-on-one support as they begin their teaching experience.

She is the second SDNB teacher of the year, according to the Wisconsin DPI, joining former Poplar Creek Elementary speech pathologist Tarah Fedenia, who won the award in 2021.

"Having a Wisconsin teacher of the year is an incredible honor not only for Saghar and New Berlin West, but for the entire district and the New Berlin community, as well," Superintendent Joe Garza said. "This achievement is really a reflection of the incredible staff we have here in our great district, and I could not be prouder of Saghar for exemplifying the high quality of teaching and learning that takes place in all of our amazing schools."

The 2024 Wisconsin Teachers of the Year are among the 100 educators recognized earlier this year by the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation's Teacher Fellowship Program, which honors and supports teaching excellence and innovation across Wisconsin. The honorees were selected by a diverse committee to represent voices, contexts, and perspectives as educational leaders throughout Wisconsin. The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation will provide a \$3,000 personal award to each of those selected.

"Saghar is an instructor who, when students have had the opportunity to work with her, they respect, understand, and grow with her passion for her subject and for learning in general," New Berlin West principal Michael Fesenmaier said. "Saghar thrives on challenge, willingly seeking what is necessary to grow and succeed, consistently taking the path that is best for her students and learning. She knows this comes through hard work and willingly engages with the task of continual growth for all."

In the fall, the Teacher of the Year Selection Committee will interview each of those selected to be the 2024 Wisconsin Teachers of the Year. Through a collaborative process, one of the five educators will be chosen to represent Wisconsin in the Council of Chief State School Officers' National Teacher of the Year Program.

For more information on the Wisconsin Teacher of the Year Program, visit the DPI's website.